monkey-thinking

I’ve wondered about this question in the past and it’s a very intriguing concept to wrap my head around. I thought about this when meeting new people, joining a sorority, and in planning for my birthday in the upcoming month. As I meet new people, especially friends of friends, I thought whether or not how much I like one person also correlate with how much I will like the friend of the person I like. When I joined a sorority, I thought of it like this. In the very beginning establishing stages of the sorority, a few friends came together to create the sorority on campus, who later became the founding mothers. Let’s say all five of the founding mothers were best friends who appreciated and loved each other; as new individuals showed interest in joining, if one founding mother adores a new person, that doesn’t mean that the others will also like her too. Would it be possible that the whole sorority, with growing numbers all get along? Even for my upcoming birthday, I’m curious to see if everyone will be friends with everyone right off the bat upon meeting each other for the first time. All of them will be friends of mine who I’ve invited, so their common friend is me, but just because I (person A) get along with them (person B and person C) very well individually, does it mean that them two will also get along just as well?

Unfortunately, this isn’t as simple as magnets. Otherwise, my problem will be solved. We know that the south pole attracts the north pole and the same poles repel. If people were all one dimensional and can be divided into two groups: south and north. Then there problem solved. A is south, who get’s along with B (north) and C (north), then B and C will not get along with each other. Those who are south will always be okay with those that are north but the same people will not. Sadly and thankfully, each person are individuals, with their own unique identity that can’t be replicated and found in someone else, at least not completely. Some people might look alike or dress the same or think the same, but it’s impossible for two people to be exactly the same in every single way. I refuse to accept that out of 7.1 billion people in this world right now that there is even the slightest chance that two people are exactly the same. I believe that combinations of personality, appearance, experiences, family, education, background, living style, and all other components provide a differentiating factor between two distinct people. Therefore, we shall not stereotype people and categorize individuals into groups of people and identify them as “one type”. This is a dangerous trap. Our mind tries to make things simpler for us and we automatically put people into groups to make life easier for us; train yourself to treat each individual as an individual.

Back to the original question: If A is best friends with B and C, will B and C get along too? No. I suppose not. I do think that there is a bigger likelihood for them to get along than two random strangers because there is a common friend (A) to relate to. If the case were to be true,all the people in the world will be segregated into two sides: two armies against each other. That is certainly not the case in our world so I guess the answer is no, not guaranteed that B and C get along just fine as A and B, and A and C gets along.

